Tinubu Approves Massive Upgrade Of Key Health Infrastructure In 6 Geo-Political Zones

IMG 20240215 WA01061
Spread the love

President Tinubu Approves Massive Upgrade Of Key Health Infrastructure In Six Geo-political Zones

President Bola Tinubu has approved the immediate upgrade of key health infrastructure and equipment across all six geo-political zones in the country.

A statement issued by presidential spokesman, Ajuri Ngelale said the move is in line with his administration’s vision of overhauling the health and social welfare sector for enhanced service delivery to all Nigerians.

Ngelale said the upgrading health infrastructure and equipment is a top priority of President Tinubu’s Health Sector Renewal Investment Initiative.

“To advance this landmark effort, the Federal Ministry of Health and Social Welfare in collaboration with the Nigeria Sovereign Investment Authority (NSIA) will carry out the comprehensive upgradation of cancer-treatment infrastructure and other critical developments in six tertiary hospitals across several geopolitical zones, in addition to the full renovation and expansion of prior investments to improve broad-based access to high-quality healthcare in all six geo-political zones of the federation,” he said.

The president approved the establishment of oncology and nuclear medicine centres in six teaching hospitals in the country.

Ngelale said this is part of President Tinubu’s bid to ensure that world class cancer diagnosis and care is accessible across the country.

The teaching hospitals are: University of Benin Teaching Hospital, Ahmadu Bello University Teaching Hospital, University of Nigeria (Nsukka) Teaching Hospital, Federal Teaching Hospital, Katsina; University of Jos Teaching Hospital and Lagos University Teaching Hospital (LUTH).

Ngelale added the president approved 10 critical health care service expansion projects across the fields of radiology, clinical pathology, medical and radiation oncology, and cardiac catheterization in ten hospitals across all geo-political zones.

The hospitals are the Reference Hospital, Kaduna (Radiology, clinical pathology, medical and radiation oncology), North-West; Medical Diagnostic Centre Complex, Enugu (Radiology, clinical pathology, medical & radiation oncology), South-East; Usman Danfodiyo University Teaching Hospital, Sokoto (Diagnostic and intervention radiology, clinical pathology, and cardiac catheterization), North-West; University College Hospital, Ibadan (Diagnostic and intervention radiology, clinical pathology, and cardiac catheterization), South-West and University of Uyo Teaching Hospital (Radiology and clinical pathology), South-South.

Others are Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University Teaching Hospital, Bauchi (Radiology and clinical pathology), North-East; Federal Medical Centre, Asaba (Radiology and clinical pathology), South-South; Harmony Advanced Diagnostic Centre Complex, Ilorin (Radiology and clinical pathology), North-Central; Jos University Teaching Hospital (Radiology and clinical pathology), North-Central and the Federal Medical Centre, Nguru (Radiology and clinical pathology), North-East.

“These critical projects, set to be delivered within 12-18 months, will improve screening and diagnostics for communicable and non-communicable diseases; reduce mortality rates and improve outcomes for non-communicable diseases; create considerable employment opportunities for clinical, administrative, and managerial personnel across Nigeria’s six geo-political zones, all while building the capacity of clinical personnel in advanced procedures, diagnostics and treatment modalities, in accordance with the Renewed Hope Agenda of President Bola Tinubu,” he stated.

Spread the love
By Abia ThinkTank

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts