Tinubu Orders Review Of Tertiary Institutions Boards After Public Outcry

IMG 20240512 WA0065
Spread the love

Tinubu Orders Review Of Tertiary Institutions Boards After Public Outcry

President Bola Tinubu has directed a total and comprehensive review of the recently announced governing boards of tertiary institutions in Nigeria before the inauguration and retreat being planned for the nominees.

This was disclosed on Thursday by the President’s Special Adviser on Information and Strategy, Bayo Onanuga in a State House statement titled ‘President Tinubu directs comprehensive review of governing boards of tertiary institutions.’

Onanuga said the nominations “did not reflect the federal character of the country as some states got just one nomination, while some others got many.”

Tinubu had approved the appointments of at least 555 persons to serve as Pro-chancellors/Chairmen and members of Governing Boards of 111 federal universities, polytechnics and Colleges of Education.

This followed his assent to a list of nominees selected by the Ministry of Education.

However, after public outcry, among which is the Academic Staff Union of Universities, Bauchi State, which advocated for the reinstatement of the earlier dissolved members, the President “in directing a complete review of the list of the members of the governing councils, acknowledges the feedback across the country.

“President Tinubu is committed to ensuring strict compliance with the principle of federal character as entrenched in the constitution. The review will also take into consideration national spread and ensure every part of the country is adequately represented.”

The inauguration and retreat for the nominees will take place on May 31, 2024.

On the list is a former Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission, Prof. Attahiru Jega, who was also appointed as the Pro-Chancellor and Chairman of the Governing Board of Usmanu Danfodiyo University Sokoto, Sokoto State. Members are Mary Yisa, R. O. Kazeem, Prof. Usman Musa and Dr. Anthony Usoro

Wole Olanipekun, SAN, was made the Pro-chancellor and Chairman of the Governing Board of the University of Lagos, Akoka, Lagos State. Members are Prof. S. E. Ogbeide, Rufai Chanchangi, Mrs Glory Ekpo-Oho, and Patricia Yakubu, among others.

Spread the love
By Abia ThinkTank

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts